Chapter 140A.

State Awards System.

140A-1. Annual awards established; form and design.

The State of North Carolina hereby establishes annual awards, not to exceed six in number, each bearing the name of the recipient, with an appropriate inscription reciting the reason for the award, which form and design shall be approved by the Governor and Council of State. (1961, c. 1143, s. 1.)


140A-2. Fields of recognition; periods covered.

These recognitions shall be known as the North Carolina Awards for Literature, Science, the Fine Arts and Public Service, and shall be conferred upon citizens of North Carolina for the most notable attainments in these respective fields during the current year, terminating four months before the date of award, though such distinctions can be exceptionally conferred, with the approval of the Governor and the Council of State, for eminence achieved during years prior to the award. (1961, c. 1143, s. 2.)


140A-3. Annual awards to natives living outside State.

Awards may be made annually to native-born North Carolinians, living outside of North Carolina, for preeminent accomplishment in not more than two of the above fields of creative endeavor. (1961, c. 1143, s. 3; 1991, c. 131, s. 1.)


140A-4. Repealed by Session Laws 1973, c. 476, s. 73.


140A-5. Selection of recipients for awards.

The recipients of the awards shall be chosen by a committee named by the North Carolina Awards Committee, for each category of achievement, but no award shall be made in any field unless the committee of awards deems the recognized accomplishment to be outstanding in merit, value, and distinction. (1961, c. 1143, s. 5; 1973, c. 476, s. 73.)


140A-6. Administration expense.

The expense of administering this Chapter shall be paid out of the Contingency and Emergency Fund subject to the approval of the Governor and Council of State. (1961, c. 1143, s. 6.)