GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

H.B. 279 Mar 5, 2019 HOUSE PRINCIPAL CLERK

D

H

HOUSE BILL DRH40116-NDa-28

Short Title: Additional Judge in District 23. (Public)

Sponsors: Representative Zachary.

Referred to:

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ADD ONE DISTRICT COURT JUDGE TO DISTRICT 23 AND TO MANDATE THAT OF THE FIVE DISTRICT COURT JUDGE POSITIONS IN DISTRICT 23, ONE JUDGE SHALL RESIDE IN ASHE COUNTY, ONE IN YADKIN COUNTY, AND THREE IN WILKES COUNTY, AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

12	District	<u>Judges</u>	<u>County</u>
13	1	5	Camden
14			Chowan
15			Currituck
16			Dare
17			Gates
18			Pasquotank
19			Perquimans
20	2	4	Martin
21			Beaufort
22			Tyrrell
23			Hyde
24			Washington
25	3A	5	Pitt
26	3B	6	Craven
27			Pamlico
28			Carteret
29	4	8	Sampson
30			Duplin
31			Jones
32			Onslow
33	5	9	New Hanover
34			Pender
35	6	4	Northampton
36			Bertie



Session 2019	orth Carolina	General Assembly Of North Carolina	
Hertford			
Halifax			
Nash	7	7	
Edgecombe			
Wilson			
Wayne	6	8	
Greene			
Lenoir			
Granville	5	9	
(part of Vance	Č		
see subsection			
(b))			
Franklin			
Person			
Warren	2	9B	
	2	ЭD	
(part of Vance			
see subsection (b))	2	10.4	
(part of Wake	3	10A	
see subsection (b))		100	
(part of Wake	3	10B	
see subsection (b))	_		
(part of Wake	3	10C	
see subsection (b))			
(part of Wake	6	10D	
see subsection (b))			
(part of Wake	3	10E	
see subsection (b))			
(part of Wake	3	10F	
see subsection (b))			
Harnett	11	11	
Johnston			
Lee			
Cumberland	10	12	
Bladen	6	13	
Brunswick	-		
Columbus			
Durham	7	14	
Alamance	4	15A	
Orange	5	15B	
Chatham	3	130	
Scotland	4	16A	
Anson	4	10A	
Richmond	5	1.CD	
Robeson	5	16B	
Caswell	4	17A	
Rockingham		4.50	
Stokes	4	17B	
Surry			
Guilford	14	18	
Cabarrus	5	19A	
Randolph	5	19B	

Page 2 DRH40116-NDa-28

	General Assembly Of North Carolina		Session 2019	
1	19C	5	Rowan	
2	19D	4	Hoke, Moore	
3	20A	3	Montgomery, Stanly	
4	20B	1	(part of Union	
5	200	1	see subsection	
6			(b))	
7	20C	2	* * * *	
8	200	<u> </u>	(part of Union see subsection	
9				
10	20D	1	(b))	
11	20D 21	1 11	Union	
			Forsyth	
12	22A	5	Alexander	
13	220		Iredell	
14	22B	6	Davidson	
15	22	45	Davie	
16	23	4 <u>5</u>	Alleghany	
17			Ashe	
18			Wilkes	
19			Yadkin	
20	24	4	Avery	
21			Madison	
22			Mitchell	
23			Watauga	
24			Yancey	
25	25	9	Burke	
26			Caldwell	
27			Catawba	
28	26A	3	(part of	
29			Mecklenburg	
30			see subsection (b))	
31	26B	3	(part of	
32			Mecklenburg	
33			see subsection (b))	
34	26C	2	(part of	
35			Mecklenburg	
36			see subsection (b))	
37	26D	2	(part of	
38			Mecklenburg	
39			see subsection (b))	
40	26E	3	(part of	
41		-	Mecklenburg	
42			see subsection (b))	
43	26F	3	(part of	
44	201	3	Mecklenburg	
45			see subsection (b))	
46	26G	2	(part of	
47	200		Mecklenburg	
48			see subsection (b))	
4 8	26H	3	(part of	
50	4011	S	-	
51			Mecklenburg see subsection (b))	
JI			see subsection (b))	

DRH40116-NDa-28 Page 3

	General Assembly Of N	North Carolina	Session 2019	
1	27A	7	Gaston	
2	27B	6	Cleveland	
3			Lincoln	
4	28	7	Buncombe	
5	29A	3	McDowell	
6			Rutherford	
7	29B	4	Henderson	
8			Polk	
9			Transylvania	
10	30	6	Cherokee	
11			Clay	
12			Graham	
13			Haywood	
14			Jackson	
15			Macon	
16			Swain.	
17	•••			

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26 27

28

29

(b8) The qualified voters of District Court District 23 shall elect all five judges established for the District in subsection (a) of this section, but only persons who reside in Ashe County may be candidates for one judgeship, only persons who reside in Yadkin County may be candidates for one judgeship, and only persons who reside in Wilkes County may be candidates for three judgeships."

SECTION 2. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Administrative Office of the Courts the sum of one hundred nine thousand two hundred twenty-three dollars (\$109,223) in fiscal year 2020-2021 and one hundred ninety-eight thousand five hundred eighty-eight dollars (\$198,588) in fiscal year 2021-2022.

SECTION 3. Section 1 of this act becomes effective January 1, 2021, and elections conducted in 2020 shall be conducted in accordance with the judgeship created in Section 1. The remainder of this act is effective July 1, 2020.

Page 4 DRH40116-NDa-28