GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

Η

HOUSE BILL 279

	Short Title:	Additional Judge in District 23.	(Public)				
	Sponsors:	Representatives Zachary and Stevens (Primary Sponsor For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina C	·				
	Referred to:	Appropriations, Justice and Public Safety, if favo favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the Hous					
	March 7, 2019						
 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT TO ADD ONE DISTRICT COURT JUDGE TO DISTRICT 23 AND TO MA THAT OF THE FIVE DISTRICT COURT JUDGE POSITIONS IN DISTRICT JUDGE SHALL RESIDE IN ASHE COUNTY, ONE IN YADKIN COUNTY, AND IN WILKES COUNTY, AND TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS. The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten: 							
8		umbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrate	es and additional seats of				
9 10 11	(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth i following table:						
12	District	Judges	County				
13 14 15 16 17 18 19	1	5	Camden Chowan Currituck Dare Gates Pasquotank Perquimans				
20 21 22 23 24	2	4	Martin Beaufort Tyrrell Hyde Washington				
25	3A	5	Pitt				
26 27 28	3B	6	Craven Pamlico Carteret				
29 30 31 32	4	8	Sampson Duplin Jones Onslow				
32 33 34	5	9	New Hanover Pender				



General Assembly Of	North Carolina	Session 20
6	4	Northampton
		Bertie
		Hertford
		Halifax
7	7	Nash
		Edgecombe
		Wilson
8	6	Wayne
		Greene
		Lenoir
9	5	Granville
,	-	(part of Vance
		see subsection
		(b))
		Franklin
		Person
9B	2	Warren
)D	2	(part of Vance
		see subsection (b)
10.4	3	
10A	3	(part of Wake
10D	2	see subsection (b)
10B	3	(part of Wake
100	2	see subsection (b)
10C	3	(part of Wake
		see subsection (b)
10D	6	(part of Wake
		see subsection (b)
10E	3	(part of Wake
		see subsection (b)
10F	3	(part of Wake
		see subsection (b)
11	11	Harnett
		Johnston
		Lee
12	10	Cumberland
13	6	Bladen
		Brunswick
		Columbus
14	7	Durham
15A	4	Alamance
15B	5	Orange
		Chatham
16A	4	Scotland
		Anson
		Richmond
16B	5	Robeson
10 D 17A	4	Caswell
1/11		Rockingham
17B	4	Stokes
	4	
18	14	Surry Guilford
10	14	Gumora

	General Assembly Of	North Carolina	Session 2019
1	19A	5	Cabarrus
2	19 B	5	Randolph
3	19C	5	Rowan
4	19D	4	Hoke, Moore
5	20A	3	Montgomery, Stanly
6	20B	1	(part of Union
7	202	-	see subsection
8			(b))
9	20C	2	(part of Union
10	200		see subsection
10			(b))
12	20D	1	Union
12	20D	11	
			Forsyth
14	22A	5	Alexander
15	220	6	Iredell
16	22B	6	Davidson
17	22		Davie
18	23	4 <u>5</u>	Alleghany
19			Ashe
20			Wilkes
21			Yadkin
22	24	4	Avery
23			Madison
24			Mitchell
25			Watauga
26			Yancey
27	25	9	Burke
28			Caldwell
29			Catawba
30	26A	3	(part of
31			Mecklenburg
32			see subsection (b))
33	26B	3	(part of
34	-	-	Mecklenburg
35			see subsection (b))
36	26C	2	(part of
37	200	-	Mecklenburg
38			see subsection (b))
39	26D	2	(part of
40	200	<u> </u>	Mecklenburg
40 41			
41 42	26E	3	see subsection (b))
	ZOE	5	(part of Masklankurg
43			Mecklenburg
44		2	see subsection (b))
45	26F	3	(part of
46			Mecklenburg
47			see subsection (b))
48	26G	2	(part of
49			Mecklenburg
50			see subsection (b))
51	26H	3	(part of

General Assembly Of North Carolina		Session 2019	
		Mecklenburg	
		see subsection (b))	
27A	7	Gaston	
27B	6	Cleveland	
		Lincoln	
28	7	Buncombe	
29A	3	McDowell	
		Rutherford	
29B	4	Henderson	
		Polk	
		Transylvania	
30	6	Cherokee	
		Clay	
		Graham	
		Haywood	
		Jackson	
		Macon	
		Swain.	
	ied voters of District Court District 23 s		
for the District in sub-	section (a) of this section, but only perso	ons who reside in Ashe County may	
be candidates for one	judgeship, only persons who reside in	Yadkin County may be candidates	
for one judgeship, and only persons who reside in Wilkes County may be candidates for three			
judgeships."			
SECTION	V 2. There is appropriated from the C	General Fund to the Administrative	
Office of the Courts the sum of one hundred nine thousand two hundred twenty-three dollars			
(\$109,223) in fiscal year 2020-2021 and one hundred ninety-eight thousand five hundred			
eighty-eight dollars (\$198,588) in fiscal year 2021-2022.			
SECTION 3. Section 1 of this act becomes effective January 1, 2021, and elections			
conducted in 2020 sha	all be conducted in accordance with the	judgeship created in Section 1. The	
remainder of this act is effective July 1, 2020			

31 remainder of this act is effective July 1, 2020.