## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

S CENTATE DATA (00)

## SENATE BILL 690 Second Edition Engrossed 8/26/19

Short Title:	Modifications to 2019 Appointments Bill.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Rabon (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate	

## August 14, 2019

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO APPOINTMENTS MADE IN THE 2019 APPOINTMENTS BILL.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

24

2526

27

28

29

30

31 32

33 34

35

36

**SECTION 1.** Section 1.12 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.12. Benjamin Curtis of Rockingham County and Pamela Thompson of Alamance County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring on February 28, 2021."

**SECTION 2.** Section 1.13 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.13. The Honorable Jim Perry of Lenoir County, The Honorable Jim Burgin of Harnett County, The Honorable Vickie Sawyer of Iredell County, Helen Brann of Person County, Christopher Dobbins of Gaston County, Heather Breedlove of Wake County, Shonda Corbett of Wake County, and Dr. David Huang of Orange County are appointed to the Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force for terms expiring on June 30, 2023-2021."

**SECTION 2.1.** Section 1.15(b) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.15.(b)** Ed <u>Emery Emory of Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for a term expiring on July 1, 2021."</u>

**SECTION 2.2.** Section 1.23 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.23. Effective January 1, 2020, James Gussler, Gusler, Jr., of Caswell County is appointed to the North Carolina Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term expiring on December 31, 2023."

**SECTION 3.** Section 1.36 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.36. James Pressley James Pressly of Iredell County is appointed to the North Carolina Housing Partnership for a term expiring on August 31, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Roy Helm."

**SECTION 4.** Section 1.45 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 1.45.** Patrick Joyce of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina State Ports Authority for a term expiring on <u>July June</u> 30, 2021."

**SECTION 4.1.** Section 1.53 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 1.53. <u>Diana Diane</u> Smith of Caldwell County is appointed to the State Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners for a term expiring on June 30, 2022."

**SECTION 5.** Section 2.3 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.3. Effective October 1, 2019, Dr. <u>Leslie D. Leslie O.</u> McKesson of Burke County is appointed to the African-American Heritage Commission for a term expiring on September 30, 2022."



**SECTION 5.1.** Section 2.27 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

 "SECTION 2.27. Effective January 1, 2020, Dr. Lawrence R. Nycum of Forsyth County, Dr. Costa Andreou of Gaston County, and James A. "Adam" Sholar of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Board of Directors for terms expiring on January 1, December 31, 2023."

**SECTION 6.** Section 2.38 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 2.38.(a) If House Bill 200, 2019 Regular Session, becomes law, then effective Effective September 1, 2019, Dr. Charles Westley Wood of Wilkes County, Dr. Van O. Dempsey, III, of New Hanover County, Dr. Connie O. Locklear of Robeson County, and Samuel H. Houston, Jr., of Wake County are appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for terms expiring on August 31, 2020.

"SECTION 2.38.(b) If House Bill 200, 2019 Regular Session, becomes law, then effective Effective September 1, 2019, Michael D. Hicks of Union County, Dr. Virginia Ann Bullock of Alamance County, Aaron Fleming of Harnett County, and Joseph W. Childers of Stokes-Tabari A. Wallace of Craven County are appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for terms expiring on August 31, 2021."

**SECTION 7.** Section 2.39 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

 "SECTION 2.39. Alexander A. Guess of <u>Durham Wake County</u> is appointed to the Property Tax Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2023."

**SECTION 8.** Section 2.44(a) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:

 "SECTION 2.44.(a) Lige <u>Dautridge Daughtridge</u> of Nash County and Thomas S. Hester of Vance County are appointed to the Rural Infrastructure Authority for terms expiring on June 30, 2020."

**SECTION 9.** This act is effective when it becomes law.