GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

S

SENATE BILL 690 Second Edition Engrossed 8/26/19 House Committee Substitute Favorable 10/1/19

	Short Title:Modifications to 2019 Appointments Bill.(Public)
	Sponsors:
	Referred to:
	August 14, 2019
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
2	AN ACT TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO APPOINTMENTS MADE IN THE 2019
3	APPOINTMENTS BILLS AND TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC
4	OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF
5	THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.
6	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
7	
8	PART I. MODIFICATIONS
9	SECTION 1.1. Section 1.12 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
10	"SECTION 1.12. Benjamin Curtis of Rockingham County and Pamela Thomas-Thompson
11	of Alamance County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring on
12	February 28, 2021."
13	SECTION 1.2. Section 1.13 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
14	"SECTION 1.13. The Honorable Jim Perry of Lenoir County, The Honorable Jim Burgin
15	of Harnett County, The Honorable Vickie Sawyer of Iredell County, Helen Brann of Person
16	County, Christopher Dobbins of Gaston County, Heather Breedlove of Wake County, Shonda
17	Corbett of Wake County, and Dr. David Huang of Orange County are appointed to the
18	Justus-Warren Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Task Force for terms expiring on June 30,
19	<u>2023.2021.</u> "
20	SECTION 1.3. Section 1.15(b) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
21 22	" SECTION 1.15.(b) Ed <u>Emery Emory of Sampson County is appointed to the North</u> Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for a term expiring on July 1, 2021."
22	SECTION 1.4. Section 1.23 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
23 24	"SECTION 1.23. Effective January 1, 2020, James Gussler, Gusler, Jr., of Caswell County
25	is appointed to the North Carolina Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term
26	expiring on December 31, 2023."
27	SECTION 1.5. Section 1.36 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
28	"SECTION 1.36. James Pressley James Pressly of Iredell County is appointed to the North
29	Carolina Housing Partnership for a term expiring on August 31, 2020, to fill the unexpired term
30	of Roy Helm."
31	SECTION 1.6. Section 1.45 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
32	"SECTION 1.45. Patrick Joyce of Carteret County is appointed to the North Carolina State
33	Ports Authority for a term expiring on July June 30, 2021."
34	SECTION 1.7. Section 1.53 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:



3

General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2019
"SECTION 1.53. Diana Diane Smith of Caldwell County is appointed to the State Board of
Cosmetic Art Examiners for a term expiring on June 30, 2022."
SECTION 1.8. Section 2.3 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
"SECTION 2.3. Effective October 1, 2019, Dr. Leslie D. Leslie O. McKesson of Burke
County is appointed to the African-American Heritage Commission for a term expiring on
September 30, 2022."
SECTION 1.9. Section 2.27 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
"SECTION 2.27. Effective January 1, 2020, Dr. Lawrence R. Nycum of Forsyth County,
Dr. Costa Andreou of Gaston County, and James A. "Adam" Sholar of Wake County are
appointed to the North Carolina Institute of Medicine Board of Directors for terms expiring on
January 1, December 31, 2023."
SECTION 1.10. Section 2.39 of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
"SECTION 2.39. Alexander A. Guess of Durham Wake County is appointed to the Property
Tax Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2023."
SECTION 1.11. Section 2.44(a) of S.L. 2019-122 reads as rewritten:
"SECTION 2.44.(a) Lige Dautridge Daughtridge of Nash County and Thomas S. Hester of
Vance County are appointed to the Rural Infrastructure Authority for terms expiring on June 30
2020."
2020.
PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS
SECTION 2.1.(a) Dr. Sara L. Neal of Forsyth County is appointed to the Boxing
Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2020.
SECTION 2.1.(b) Dr. Phillip Stephens of Robeson County is appointed to the
Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.
SECTION 2.2. Effective October 1, 2019, Laurie T. Stickney of Wake County is
appointed to the North Carolina Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September
30, 2023.
SECTION 2.3. C. Theodore Hicks II of Wake County is appointed to the North
Carolina Capital Facilities Finance Agency Board of Directors for a term expiring on February
28, 2020, to fill the unexpired term of Vincent DeBenedetto.
SECTION 2.4. Dr. Rita C. Haire of Davidson County is appointed to the North
Carolina Charter Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired
term of Phyllis Gibbs.
SECTION 2.5. The Honorable Jeffery P. Tarte of Mecklenburg County and Keith
D. Briggs of Wake County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms
expiring on January 1, 2021.
SECTION 2.6. Dr. Eric D. Morse of Wake County is appointed to the Commission
for Mental Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Substance Abuse Services for a term expiring
on June 30, 2022.
oli Julie 50, 2022.
PART III. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS
SECTION 3.1.(a) Dr. Scott A. Playford of Onslow County is appointed to the
Boxing Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2020.
SECTION 3.1.(b) Dennis Reno of Cleveland County is appointed to the Boxing
Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2022.
SECTION 3.2. Rocco F. DiSanto of Burke County and Dr. Gerald W. Poplin of
Stanly County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms expiring
on January 1, 2021.
SECTION 3.3.(a) Tabari A. Wallace of Craven County is appointed to the North
Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for a term expiring on
August 31, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Joseph W. Childers.

General Assembly Of North Carolina

SECTION 3.3.(b) B. Freebird McKinney of Alamance County is appointed to the
North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for a term expiring
on August 31, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Michael D. Hicks.

4 **SECTION 3.4.** Kevin C. Skinner of Pitt County is appointed to the Rural 5 Infrastructure Authority for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of 6 Lindsey R. Griffin.

7

8 PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

9 SECTION 4.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided,
10 terms begin upon the effective date of this act.