GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2021

Η

HOUSE BILL 356 Second Edition Engrossed 3/24/21

	Short Title:	Speaker/PPT Appointments 2021.	(Public)	
	Sponsors:	Representative D. Hall.		
	Ĩ	For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly we	eb site.	
	Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House		
	March 23, 2021			
1	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED			
2	AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE			
3	RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES			
4	AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE.			
5	Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain			
6	appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of			
7	Representatives and the President Pro Tempore of the Senate; and			
8	Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President Pro Tempore			
9	of the Senate have made recommendations; Now, therefore,			
10	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:			
11				
12	PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS			
13		ECTION 1.1. Chief John T. Cole of Alamance County is appointed to		
14		erm expiring on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Cecil V.	"Buddy"	
15	Martinette, Jr.			
16	SECTION 1.2. Dr. Scott A. Playford of Onslow County is appointed to the Boxing			
17	Advisory Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2023.			
18		ECTION 1.3.(a) Dr. Edward C. Jauch of Buncombe County is appoint		
19		ha Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 20	23, to fill	
20	-	l term of Dr. Ryan Lamb.	1 1 4	
21		ECTION 1.3.(b) Todd Bennett of Cabarrus County is appointed to t	ine North	
22		n Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring on September 30, 2024.		
23		ECTION 1.4. Effective March 1, 2021, Ricky Parks of Nash County and Walks County and Crime Commission for terms	-	
24		Vake County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms	sexpiring	
25	on February 28, 2023.			
26		ECTION 1.5. Dr. Rocco F. DiSanto of Burke County and Dr. Gerald W.	-	
27 28	•	y are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms	, expiring	
28 29	on January 1, 2023. SECTION 1.6. Brian Gwyn of Cleveland County is appointed to the North Carolina			
29 30	Institute of Medicine for a term expiring on December 31, 2023, to fill the unexpired term of Dr.			
31	Costa Andreo		\mathbf{D}	

SECTION 1.7. The Honorable Barbara Jackson of Wake County is appointed to the 33 Rules Review Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of 34 Garth Dunklin.



	General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2021
1	SECTION 1.8. Peter J. Juran of Forsyth County is appointed to the University of
2	North Carolina School of the Arts Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill
3	the unexpired term of Philip Horne.
4	SECTION 1.9. The Honorable Charles McGrady of Henderson County is appointed
5	to the University of North Carolina at Asheville Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June
6	30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of James W. Davis.
7	
8	PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS
9	SECTION 2.1. Andrew H. "Sandy" Weathersbee of Mecklenburg County is
0	appointed to the North Carolina Partnership for Children Board of Directors for a term expiring
1	on December 31, 2022, to fill the unexpired term of Terra Flint.
2	SECTION 2.2. The Honorable Deanna Ballard of Watauga County is appointed to
3	the Education Commission of the States for a term expiring on December 31, 2022.
4	SECTION 2.3. Benjamin Curtis of Rockingham County and Pamela Tyler
5	Thompson of Alamance County are appointed to the Governor's Crime Commission for terms
6	expiring on February 28, 2023.
7	SECTION 2.4. The Honorable Robert "Bob" Rucho of Brunswick County is
8	appointed to the Rules Review Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the
9	unexpired term of the Honorable Tommy Tucker.
0	SECTION 2.5. Todd Godbey of New Hanover County is appointed to the Charter
1	Schools Advisory Board for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of
2	Jeanette Butterworth.
3	SECTION 2.6. John M. Check of Nash County is appointed to the Judicial Standards
4	Commission for a term expiring on June 30, 2021, to fill the unexpired term of Col. Grady H.
5	Hawkins.
6	SECTION 2.7. Dr. Jimmy T. Tate of Pender County is appointed to the University
7	of North Carolina at Wilmington Board of Trustees for a term expiring on June 30, 2023, to fill
8	the unexpired term of the Honorable Michael Lee.
9	SECTION 2.8. The Honorable Jeffery P. Tarte of Mecklenburg County and Keith
0	D. Briggs of Wake County are appointed to the Information Technology Strategy Board for terms
1	expiring on January 1, 2023.
2	
3	PART III. EFFECTIVE DATE
4	SECTION 3.1. Unless otherwise provided, appointments shall begin upon the
5	effective date of this act.
6	SECTION 3.2. This act is effective when it becomes law.