GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

H HOUSE BILL 152

Short Title:	Even Yr Elections/Maysville & Pollocksville.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Representative Humphrey.	
	For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly web	site.
Referred to:	Local Government, if favorable, Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the I	House

February 21, 2023

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO PROVIDE THAT REGULAR MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS IN THE TOWNS OF MAYSVILLE AND POLLOCKSVILLE SHALL BE HELD IN EVEN-NUMBERED YEARS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

 SECTION 1.(a) Section 7 of the Charter of the Town of Maysville, being Chapter 171 of the Private Laws of 1897, as amended by Chapter 284 of the Private Laws of 1905, Chapter 47 of the Private Laws of 1915, and Town Ordinance No. 04-01 adopted August 5, 2004, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 7. That until the next town election to be held in the town of Maysville, the following persons are hereby appointed and shall constitute the officers of said town, to wit: Frank M. Jenkins, as mayor: Dr. N.G. Shaw, A.C. Fosene, J.E. McCutchen, B.L. Mattocks and Lewis Bynum, as commissioners, who shall qualify before some justice of the peace within twenty days after the ratification of this act, and said officers shall continue in office until their successors shall be elected and qualified. The said commissioners are hereby authorized and empowered to appoint a town marshal, to hold office until his successor is elected and qualifies. That hereafter the officers in said town of Maysville, Jones County, shall elected under the law as provided in chapter seven hundred and fifty of the Public Laws of one thousand nine hundred and one, and said chapter is hereby made applicable to the town of Maysville. Beginning in 2024 and quadrennially thereafter, regular municipal elections shall be held for the election of town officers in the Town of Maysville in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws in North Carolina."

SECTION 1.(b) The terms of office for the mayor and all commissioners serving on the effective date of this act whose terms are set to expire in 2025 shall be reduced by one year, and regular municipal elections shall be conducted in 2024 and every four years thereafter.

SECTION 2.(a) Section 3 of the Charter of the Town of Pollocksville, being Chapter 202 of the Private Laws of 1911, as amended, reads as rewritten:

"Sec. 3. That the officers of said town shall consist of a mayor, five commissioners and a town constable, each of whom shall be elected by vote of the people at the time and in the manner prescribed for holding elections in incorporated towns. In 2024 and quadrennially thereafter, three commissioners shall be elected to serve four-year terms. In 2026 and quadrennially thereafter, two commissioners and a mayor shall be elected to serve four-year terms. Beginning in 2024 and biennially thereafter, regular municipal elections shall be held for the election of town officers in the Town of Pollocksville in accordance with the uniform municipal election laws in North Carolina."



7 8 **SECTION 2.(b)** No municipal elections shall be conducted in the Town of Pollocksville in 2023. The terms of office for the three commissioners serving on the effective date of this act whose terms are set to expire in 2023 shall be extended by one year. The terms of office for the two commissioners and mayor serving on the effective date of this act whose terms are set to expire in 2025 shall be extended by one year. Regular municipal elections shall be conducted in the Town of Pollocksville in 2024. **SECTION 3.** This act is effective when it becomes law and applies to elections held

on or after that date.